musings on worship and christian living


Thought of the Day: Poetry Take 2
August 7, 2009, 5:00 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This one actually turned into a song I think, so they poetic balance may be a little off.  I was spurred on by a very gifted song writer this week to be more creative in my lyrics.  While I absolutely agree that we as writers should always be seeking out fresh perspective, I have wondered if sometimes if we try to hard to be creative if we will end up missing the power of simple truths communicated through simple words.

This is my poetic and creative attempt to say,
“maybe sometimes simple is good.”

Words are shattered on the ground
Weak from over use, profound
No longer meaningful it seems
They now betray Your Majesty
And I ponder with what verb I should describe

The One who blew across the desert
Until life began to softly harmonize
Sounds of the Word over an ocean
On a planet as in spun in endless sky

I wonder with revision
If  I could paint a clearer image of the light
If restructured verbal interludes
Will suddenly enlist you in the fight
And I ponder with what words I should describe
I can’t find new words which will describe

Perfection trading glory’s throne
For the anguish of all those who call His name
Hands that formed the world anew
Now reaching out to welcome once lost children home

So the question still remains
Is there a combination made
Of words that orchestrate the reverence that’s desired
Or are words simply inadequate
To adequately stimulate your heart

Though I tried I couldn’t recreate
A better way to say that “God Creates” and “Jesus Saves”
Maybe simple is the answer
And the song we sing each day should be the same

“Jesus loves me, this I know
For the Bible tells me so”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Nathan,

I agree that there is a definite power in brevity which can sometimes be viewed as being simple. Here’s one of my favorite and shortest poems from my book titled “Your Gift of Grace”:

As Iron Sharpens Iron
 by Tom Janicik

Brother in Christ
Remove the debris
Which torments our souls

Strike firm
With your sword
Refining us

As a sharp blade
Gleans brightly
In the light

So to shall
We shine
As iron sharpens iron

Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron, So a man sharpens the countenance of his friend. NKJV

Take care,

Tom

Comment by Tom Janicik




Leave a Reply

