musings on worship and christian living


What Is Needed Not Desired
May 20, 2009, 2:43 pm
Filed under: Life

If you know me at all you are probably aware I’ve been walking the path of “starving musician” for the past 8 months and counting.  I effectively went from a living wage job to… well, not a living wage job.  It’s hard enough to make a living playing music when you’re well known, it’s next to impossible when you’re just getting started.  

It has been an interesting journey for me as I have had to swallow my pride and rely on the generosity of others to even make ends meet.  I’ve also had to take a hard look at what is important, weighing what is needed over what is desired.  At times I have been extremely frustrated that I couldn’t do what I wanted.  Many times I have found myself being envious of friends who were traveling and vacationing when I was struggling to find enough money to put fuel in my truck and essentially living off Top Ramen (which actually kills my stomach, but it’s cheap).  

The gut check for me is in realizing on a global level I am wealthy.  This was refreshed in my mind while reading a blog post by Vicky Beeching in which she re-posted this video.

Right now I’m averaging about $700 a month in income, or about $8400 for the year.  That works out to about $23 a day.  The poverty line for the US is right around $12,000 a year for a single with no kids, so I am well below that.  However, in the global scheme of things I am a wealthy man as 53% of the world population lives on $2 a day.  I still have a truck (which will soon be for sale if anyone is interested), a roof over my head (thank you Jonathan), guitars, 2 computers, a TV, an Xbox and a cupboard full of dehydrated noodles.

In the past 8 months I have realized what a culture of extreme excess we live in.  It strikes me as insanity that we continue building fiscal empires and consuming without end while so many in the world sit with nothing.  

As with most things what is in my heart comes out in song.  I wrote this yesterday in response to the video as well as 8 months of observation and pondering.  It is yet unnamed (your suggestions are welcome).  

My challenge for us all today is to give up something you desire and instead fill the need of one without.

©2009 Nathan Arnold

I haven’t slept for days
The world and its dismay
Weighing on my shoulders
I’ve heard them saying we should change
To things essentially the same
So much for simple answers

And I’ve been wondering what our dreams are made of
Is sleep a needed element to reach them

“Hey there Mr Sandman” I say
“Won’t you pass me a little sleep now?
I want to leave this place
And dream a piece of heaven.”

I’ve heard it said that we should save
The hungry, hurting and enslaved
Yet we lounge in our own excess
Should it come as a surprise
The desperate see us and despise
Our self-righteous answers

And I’ve been wondering what my dreams are made of
Is sleep a needed element to reach them

“Hey there Mr Sandman” I say
“Won’t you pass me a little sleep now?
I want to leave this place
And dream a piece of heaven.”

If we dream a better world where there aren’t hungry sick and poor
Will it just fade away as waking turns from sleep
Maybe if we would just survive on what is needed not desired
We could find a way to see dreams awake

“Hey there Mr Sandman” I say
“Won’t you pass me a little sleep now?
I want to leave this place
And dream a piece of heaven
The peace of heaven.”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You will be blessed. Thanks for sharing your transparency, once again. You are a good person.

Comment by Shannon




Leave a Reply

