musings on worship and christian living


Reprise: Emergency Pair
May 4, 2009, 8:00 pm
Filed under: Life

I just got done moving out of my apartment of 2 years and after spending weeks sorting through all my things and giving much of it away I thought of this blog.  It also seems fitting in light of my previous blog and embracing the new things God has for me going forward.  So I thought it was worth a reprise.  I dug it out of the backlogs of the blog and here it is again, one of my favorites.  Hope y’all are having a tremendous day!  

-Nathan

_______________________________________

well now… it’s 12:50 am, Pacific time, and what better time to find myself in front of my computer screen thinking about something profound?  Or maybe it’s not. It depends on how well my mind actually spits this out. The simple fact of the matter is I’m tired, but I was up working on a new song and as I put away my guitar I had an interesting thought…

That interesting thought is underwear.

Rabbit trail:  As I’m typing this I just realized how much I am like my mother, a woman who finds something spiritual in everything. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard the words, “You know there is a spiritual lesson in that…”  This is usually followed by my dad saying, “oh brother. Your mother finds a spiritual lesson in everything.” Another interesting thing about my mom is that she knows every song that time ever forgot. It’s the truth. She knows a song for every situation. She will be happy to know I am also following her footsteps there as I found myself singing one of her songs to my band at the retreat. It was an interesting moment…

Now back to underwear. I’ve actually had two thoughts about underwear in the last few days. The first one was, why do underwear always ride up and pants always fall down? It seems like they’d go the same direction, doesn’t it? But no… they always seem to be diametrically opposed. Weird. But the thought that this thought is about is a different thought regarding underwear.

What this thought is about is the “oh no!  I forgot to do laundry and I only have my emergency pair of underwear left”. (by the way… why are they a “pair” of underwear?) Don’t pretend you don’t know what I’m talking about.  Everyone has them… the last pair of underwear you ever want to put on because they are 42 years old and suffering from a variety of ailments that all severely affect their effectiveness. No one knows why you save them either. Maybe it’s the fond memories you’ve had, maybe you’re not willing to part with clothes that still work, or maybe you think they are classics (or vintage?) since they are so old… but the reality is we all keep them around.

I don’t know what ailments your emergency pair has, but I know the one mine has. The elastic has given up the fight. They actually handed me a waiver when I picked them up saying, “we will not be responsible if people mistake you for a plumber while we are in use.  We have fought the good fight, and we are retiring! We are willing to stand in, but we aren’t going to try to impress anyone!”

So as I hastily did a load of laundry this afternoon a scripture popped into my head. 2 Corinthians 5:17, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.” (anyone every notice how often the semicolon is used in the Bible, and how it’s never used anywhere else?)

I just thought… why in the world do I still have these underwear? I’ve got new things, I don’t need them. If I didn’t have them I would have done laundry earlier and been far happier today. But just like in every part of life we hold on to things we don’t need. Then I moved past underwear and was thinking about things that I’ve held on to since I became a Christian, or the dead things I’ve picked up since I was a Christian, and how they make me miss out on the new things God has blessed me with.

The reality is God wants to give us a whole new wardrobe! Not a physical one, but in our spiritual walk, in our experiences, in every aspect of our lives. What do we do when things pass away? We get rid of them, burry them, cremate them. They are gone. People don’t keep dead things around! Well… Norman Bates does, but I’m surely not aspiring to be like him. (reference: Psycho.  Movie by the genius Alfred Hitchcock) 
So I’m wondering… what underwear are we holding on to that’s keeping us from running forward in the new things of Christ? It’s easy to point to things in the church, and I’m usually up for that… but I think the process starts with the individual. (I almost said me, but I don’t need you all pointing out my flaws…) What are we holding on to that is keeping us from the new?  I know I’d just hate to hold on to a bad pair of underwear when God is trying to hand me something new and amazing.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh man. This is too good:

…why do underwear always ride up and pants always fall down? It seems like they’d go the same direction, doesn’t it? But no… they always seem to be diametrically opposed. Weird.

definitely some deeper meaning lurks within this statement. Actually, the entire underwear rant hits close to home. My wife still has underwear from our first year of marriage…and I have some from high school (boxers). No joke. I mean, how difficult is it to throw a new pack in the cart at Target?? This is a sickness that must be stopped. Thanks for shedding light on it… now to shed the underwear…

Good stuff, Nathan! Enjoying your music today.

Comment by Dave

It is just as good and profound the second time around. Keep writing!! I love your stuff.

Comment by sue

I ran across your blog because I just used my emergency pair of underwear a minute ago and wanted to know if anyone else does this. Lol. Very funny and very profound.

Comment by Mr. Joekzalott




Leave a Reply

