musings on worship and christian living


Completely Broken
July 3, 2008, 5:30 pm
Filed under: Life, Random Musings

I was looking through my files an noticed I have roughly 90 songs, some done, so halfway, some that were terrible and I’m trying to forget the melody to, and some just tiny glimmers of thought I quickly jotted down as to not forget them.

So I thought I’d occasionally share some lyrics in progress, which may be a better way than singing some of these songs that quite honestly are train wrecks musically. Also, there are songs I have written that depart from the ‘norm’ of worship. Maybe someday I will be like Garth Brooks and have an alter ego and release a rock CD… but until then I’ll share some of the words with you.

This is a song written to fit a guitar part by my friend and guitarist Ben Buslach. I don’t think he liked what I wrote, because he never pushed to finish the song… but I kinda liked it.

Also, I see a number of people are reading this blog, but no one is commenting. Please feel free! I much prefer conversations over monologue.

*Editors Note*
Someone asked me if this song was about suicide, so I thought I would clarify. This song is about our sin nature and how even as we realize the need to give it up and often even scream to God for it be taken from us we still cling to it. Like Paul said in Romans 7:15-20:

“I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is the sin living in me that does it.”

The “end” the song is speaking of is not an end of life, but rather an end of the struggle.  

Completely Broken – (C)2006 Nathan Arnold

Wasted, yet another day, hoping for a different way, looking for the perfect
Will I find you, or be led astray, I can’t seem to get away, I’m walking backwards into morning

I look up into the clouds screaming, “why not now?
Come and take me away, come a take me away”
I wonder time and again, will just more waiting begin
Or will this be the end, when will I find the end?

I am almost gone, I am almost gone

Completely broken I now come to you, begging to be shown the truth
Not knowing what I’m asking  
When you hear me, will You come breaking through just to find me in retreat,  
Afraid of facing me.

I look up into the clouds screaming, “why not now?
Come and take me away, come a take me away”
I wonder time and again, will just more waiting begin
Or will this be the end, when will I find the end?

I’m already gone, I’m already gone

Break me of this fear
Break me of this empty shell of life
Break me of this fear
Show the reason I’m alive

I look up into the clouds screaming why not now?
Come and take me away, come a take me away
I wonder time and again, will just more waiting begin
Or will this be the end, when will I find the end?

I look up into the Son – He screams “why not now?
Let me take you away, let me take you away
I wonder time and again when will you let me in?
Don’t let this be the end, don’t let this be Your end.”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Very deep thoughts about the human struggle with sin. In the end when we surrender,God’s power gives us victory.I like it.

Comment by Sue




Leave a Reply

