musings on worship and christian living


Heaven on Earth
May 29, 2008, 2:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I got an amazing Christmas present this year.  My dad took my brother and I down to San Francisco to watch the Oregon State Beavers bowl game.  I love football, and the Beavs are my team, but I love most of all spending time with my family.

But that’s not what this blog is about.  I just wanted to say I love San Francisco.  It’s amazing!  I’ve been before and I liked it, but this time I just was soaking it up and I wanted to stay longer.

It’s just so… alive.  You walk outside and people are everywhere.  Not driving around, but walking… and interacting with each other.  People selling art in Union Square, little coffee shops and hole in the wall restaurants filled with creativity, street musicians and performers, people crammed shoulder to shoulder on the pier and no one cares.

I guess I’m so used to the Portland/Vancouver area that I’m not used to people actually being pedestrian.  Everything is so far apart that everyone drives, and no one interacts.  And I think we suffer for it.  We spend so much time in solitude that we don’t know how to interact with each other and it shows.

So the only thing I could think about when I was there was if felt like I was getting a glimpse of heaven on earth.  I know there is a tremendous amount of sin that also resides in the city, as with any, and that of course is not included in what I’m getting at.  It’s the other pieces… the culture, the art, the creativity, the music, the life.   A place where diversity is celebrated over conformity.

I think us Christians do a terrible job of celebrating diversity.  I’m not just talking about racial diversity, but culturally, musically, and artistically.  That’s why we have so many denominations, so many sects.  Just ask anyone where they stand on the music of the church.  Either way, traditional or contemporary you’re going to get an earful.  We aren’t ok with others thinking a little different than us and we’ve done a great job of demonizing great things.  Dancing, visual art, rock music… so much more.

I’m tired of it.  I want to experience new things, not just the things I know I love.  And I challenge you to be the same.  Try new music, go to an art show, watch a play.  Expand you’re appreciation of what God has blessed this world with.

Now before you freak out on me, I’m not writing off the need to stand on truth.  I’m not advocating that we walk away from the Bible and what it says is sin.  But if we the church can begin to embrace the diversity of this world, love people for their differences instead of forcing them to become like us, then I think we will begin to save it.  And then maybe we’ll start to see heaven on earth.  Wouldn’t that be great?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

🙂 Amen?! :-)))))))))

Comment by Rahel




Leave a Reply

