musings on worship and christian living


Chasing the Irrelevant
May 29, 2008, 2:36 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m going to let you into my world for a little bit. While some people go through the lives with relative normalcy, rogue thoughts terrorize my mind making moments of peace a virtually impossibility. Just now as I was checking my email a strange sentence popped in my head; “Chasing the Irrelevant”. Although it inspires some immediate ideas of what it could mean, I have no idea where it came from. It was most definitely not intentionally conjured up.

Some of these thoughts turn into essays and album names like “The Anatomy of a Leaf.” Others turn into songs. I woke a few weeks back with the words, “In These Hallowed Halls”. They haunted me for a few days before I wrote a song painting us as the temple of God. Then there was “chase the rainbow.” Which I later figured out was just a craving for skittles.

So I’m left this morning to wonder about “chasing the irrelevant”.

The first thought I had was that some of the most amazing things in life are irrelevant, at least by worldly standards. A healthy relationship with friends or a spouse, participating in local and world missions, sponsoring a child who has no hope, loving your neighbor, succeeding in a job you don’t like, finding Jesus in everyone you meet, or making your relationships with Christ the priority. In this context chasing the irrelevant seems very amazing.

Then I thought, maybe chasing the irrelevant isn’t so wonderful. Maybe chasing the irrelevant refers to everything that pulls me away from Christ. Popularity and status, fancy cars and high price video games consoles (picking on myself, I just got a 360), more guitars and more studio time, cute girls and a big bank account. None of these things are inherently bad. However, they become amazingly irrelevant without Christ as our main priority. When we lose Christ and pursue the world we will end up chasing the irrelevant and going no where in life.

I think ultimately the choice is yours. What does “chasing the irrelevant” mean to you. I hope it speaks to you as it did to me.  As for my choice? I think I will be chasing the most irrelevant world changer in history.

1 Corinthians 1:20-25

Where is the wise man? Where is the scholar? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe. Jews demand miraculous signs and Greeks look for wisdom, but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

