musings on worship and christian living


Anemic Showers and Vociferous Deity
May 29, 2008, 2:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

So I’m looking at my dashboard here (not the one in my truck, but the one for my blog) and I see that there have been almost 2000 total reads on my blogs since I started posting these little rants.  That’s actually 40% of the hits to my page overall, which leads me to believe a large portion of you would rather read my thoughts than listen to them.  You know, this information could have saved me a lot of money in CD production…  : )  (and I add for someone who thought I regretted recording.  I don’t regret it, I am just joking around.)

That said, let me now continue with those thoughts that 40% of you are waiting for.

I woke up this morning very sad and frustrated.  Although a large part of me wants to tell you about it, I’m not going to get in to why.  Some things are too divisive in nature to speak out to the general public, and the last thing I want to do is compound an already painful issue.

After a long conversation (not related to the topic) with a good friend in Indiana I took a head full of sporadic thought and frustration with me to one of my favorite thinking spots, the shower.  This only added to the frustration.  Why?  I have a very… moody shower.  Some days it is perfect, and bountiful hot water cascades from the shower from what seems like hours, and I leave refreshed and renewed.  Other days it takes offense that it’s in use and hurls buckets of scalding hot water on my back and seems impervious to my attempts to turn it down.  I can almost hear its egomaniacal laughter as my skin blisters from the heat.

Well today I stood in a frustrating display of mediocrity as lukewarm water tumbled from the shower head.  I listened intently for sounds of mocking laughter from the water heater closet but all I heard was a faint yawn.  Although I immediately felt like exiting the shower I stood in silent protest to show the shower that I would not be bullied and secretly hoped for the water to miraculously rise to the desired temperature.

Needless to say, I had no mind blowing thoughts and the best that was accomplished was leaving the shower downtrodden yet Zestfully clean.  If you are still reading and wondering if there is a point, there is.  It came over yogurt and granola in my kitchen though.

I was talking at God (yes I meant to say at, cause I really wasn’t caring what he had to say at the time) and letting him know (as if he didn’t) that I really wasn’t happy with some of his people and it would be really great if he could do something about it.  I also included that he should really say something to my shower, because it’s really not fair I have to put up with that kind of behavior.  I seamlessly transitioned into a rant about what I needed and deserved after years of dealing with his people.

Sometimes God speaks loudly.

Now I only caught the last part of his first line, but I know it ended with a resounding “up” and a small earthquake.  He then said clearly “if you want joy in your life, you need only to open your eyes to see it.”

I don’t know if that is really fair of him to talk to me like that, but I could tell he wasn’t in the mood to discuss.  So point taken and point passed on.  Now don’t read here that we abandon our frustrations, because I still have mine.  Don’t read here to bottle up emotional response to tragedy and pain because we need to walk through that.  Do read here to always be reveling in the blessings God does give, in every day and every hour.  Like we read in Job 6:10, “Then I would still have this consolation – my joy in unrelenting pain – that I had not denied the words of the Holy One.”

So in response to a very vociferous deity I’m going to list a few of things that bring me joy.  This is not an exhaustive list by any means.  Feel free to add to the list in response.

______________________________________________________________

Jesus Christ
The amazing gift of grace
My amazing family.  Mom and dad, brother and sister-in-law, sister and brother-in-law, niece and nephew.  Grandma, uncles, aunts, cousins…
The gift of music, the ears to hear it, the fingers to play it, and the voice to sing it
The call to use my gifts to glorify God
Amazing friends that put up with my passionate and vocal approach to life
The chance to be a part of the lives of students and watch them grow in Christ
Rain in the summer
Sunshine in the winter
Lots of snow and a wood fire burning
Hot showers  : )

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I loved this when I read it on your MySpace blog and I still love it the same. It is very REAL and I appreciate that. Kudos friend.

Comment by Shan




Leave a Reply

