musings on worship and christian living


A Deeper Sorrow
May 29, 2008, 2:46 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s almost 3 am… and I can’t sleep.  Usually that means I’m having a moment of profound thought, or I’ve been caught up in a particular bit of humor, or I’m stressed out.  Not tonight.

Tonight I can’t sleep because it seems like every moment my heart gets heavier and it gets harder to breathe.  My heart is broken for my friend Jonathan who lost his wife Samantha tonight.  It’s broken for the Kerr family who really became my family in the past 5 years.  It’s broken for an amazing young woman of God who was torn from this world far, far to early.

I want so badly to wrap my arms around my friends, to try and share the sorrow… their pain.  I feel so helpless sitting sleepless in my apartment, while my friend sits alone in a hospital.  I know God is somewhere in this, but sometimes it’s hard to see anything but grief.

So I guess I’ll just continue to sit and cry and hope that the raw emotion of my heart is an understandable prayer in heaven.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

